Heineken: The review

Two_glasses_of_Heineken_Pilsener

So for my first beer after Christmas and I use the word beer very loosely, I have chosen, or been saddled as the case may be with quite arguably one of the worlds most well known beers. I have been saddled with Heineken, that beer that Holland inflicted on the world and I think I may be correct in thinking that it could be Holland biggest export since New York.

Vital statistics:

  • Lager
  • Brewed in the Netherlands
  • 5% Apv

Look:

Your standard golden lager with lots of bubbles and a white substantial head, its your standard looking lager and I think it doesn’t look all that bad, these beers never do, do they?

6

Aroma:

That slightly off taste smell we have come to expect from these lagers. Although unlike some of its contemporaries it can at least hold the claim to being a Little hoppy.

3

Taste:

Slightly off, bitter taste that marrs many of these beers. when I first started drinking this beer I used to get a buzzing feeling at the front of my tongue and sadly my palletee has gotten to the point were even that’s a distant memory, its a shame i always enjoyed that aspect of this beer.

2

Value:

It can be had very cheaply in almost anywhere that sells beer, I’m sure some like it but I’d personally give it a miss now.

5

Session:

Like most beers in this mass market it’s a good session beer thanks mainly to its complete lack of flavour.

6

so here we have it, another mass market lager, i personally will never understand the obsession with lager but then I’m a massive beer snob it appears. this beer looks nice but much like anna kournikova it lacks any real substance, it fails on both aroma and taste and as a result i don’t think the value is 100% there. it is a pretty good session beer though but the only difference between this and water is that eventually this will get you drunk.

44/100

Leave a Reply

