Britain’s Beer Alliance Boosting Ale Awareness

If you haven’t seen it yet, click on the link to check out ‘There’s a Beer For That‘, an awareness advert paid for by Britain’s Beer Alliance. It’s basically to get people curious, or even excited, about ale in general, no particular brands or anything. The advert is the TV presence of the ‘There’s a Beer For That‘ campaign, which cost a cool ten million quid in all. You may think the Beer Alliance sounds like a group of superheroes, but they’re just regular heroes, from big companies such as Carlsberg, all the way to independent brewers.

Obviously I think it’s a great idea to try and raise the profile of ale in such a gentle, positive way. It’s a very ‘light’ advert, from the bright colours, to the music, to the message of enjoying [new] experience/s. I do have a couple of issues with it, though. Firstly, the food element. Whereas the clip does express that beer can go well with events [walking is the one mentioned] and the website mentions having company as a good time to glug, the overwhelming amount of material suggests trying beer with food. This is potentially offputting in a couple of ways – one is that it simply makes the experience more complex, having to find the pairings, having to buy/cook the food on top – the other is the negative connotation of pretention in drinkers and ‘foodies’ [which I can assure you we got none of here]. So if I’d’ve had a hand in making the advert, I suppose I would’ve made the food more of a secondary issue, but then I understand that talking about food offers more opportunity to find jaunty rhymes to make the pitch flow smoothly…

The second issue, less important than the first, is the music. I don’t think the tune fits in with the advert’s vibe. The song ‘Ooh La La’, with the lyrics “I wish that I knew what I know now when I was younger,” seems to suggest a great missed opportunity, a look back at what might have been, when the message of the advert, really, is to look forward and enjoy your life. I can’t help feeling that the ‘older voice looking back’ somehow fits in with the stereotype of ale drinkers as bitter old men with thick jumpers and a lot of contempt for modern life – an image I’m sure the Beer Alliance would love to be rid of. As for suggesting an improvement, I’m not too sure. All I know is that this is a great opportunity to link you to this Tom T Hall ‘classic’, ‘I Like Beer‘*.

.*My wish to adhere to the Drink Aware principles mean I must state that alcohol does not make you a ‘jolly good fellow’ – your mood and manners do that. Also, to unwind or feel mellow, you could also try going for a jog, reading a book or something.

Leave a Reply

